Canadian Soldiers Assistance Team (CSAT) Forum

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Wage Guarantee

+3
Rags
DazednConfused
7 posters

Page 1 of 3 1, 2, 3  Next

Go down

Wage Guarantee Empty Re: Wage Guarantee

Post by johnny211 Mon 18 Apr 2016, 11:30

pinger - Ya I quess its case by case. I did go back to trades school at 54. Mind you it was quite a mental challange. They paid it all under Voc Rehab, but then once in the work force it fell apart. Now on EELB like you, and TPI, and wont be retraining again or working. But if I was a younger Vet again, It would be a hard decison. VVV...
johnny211
johnny211
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 818
Registration date : 2014-12-26

Back to top Go down

Post by pinger Mon 18 Apr 2016, 08:09

Yes, but understand there's a lot of variables. Biggest ones for me were my physical health and being 56 y/o.
They would have paid for my retraining... reluctantly, but I signed off on the eELB that they offered me instead. I wonder what most folks would do? Sure feels like I sold part of my soul.
pinger
pinger
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 1270
Registration date : 2014-03-04

Back to top Go down

Post by Rags Mon 18 Apr 2016, 07:21

Thanks For that Pinger,
So what is the VAC impact other then not wanting to pay for retraining? Do they approve ELB and all the bells and whistles of lost wage stuff just forgo the retraining?

Rags

Rags
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 792
Registration date : 2013-01-06

Back to top Go down

Post by pinger Sun 17 Apr 2016, 15:35

Simply put Rags, if your mid to late 50's Vac can write you off IN SOME SITUATIONS. 65 is right around the corner so any re-training (2, 4, 6 years part-time) ain't worth their dime. So many variables but that was my eELB sit.
Kinda like I wasn't cost effective enough for their purposes/ timeline. I wonder how sisip plays that ball?