Canadian Soldiers Assistance Team (CSAT) Forum

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Asbestos

5 posters

Go down

Asbestos Empty Re: Asbestos

Post by Unknown Soldier Sat 19 Dec 2020, 19:04

The military personnel married quarter homes were synonymous with it too, many built in the 50s
Unknown Soldier
Unknown Soldier
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 606
Registration date : 2019-05-15

Back to top Go down

Post by AirLog Sat 19 Dec 2020, 12:20

Hi,

I have cancer that appears to have been caused by asbestos. VAC has accepted my claim and everything to do with my cancer is covered by VAC. Initial assessment was at 109% with numerous consequential claims approved without a percentage.

Older buildings on all bases were lined with asbestos. Mine was linked to the time I was a firefighter on an air base where I responded to a terrible aircraft (two) crash into buildings on the base. Spent the night breathing asbestos filled air not to mention the carcinogens being emitted from the burning aircraft.

In addition, and later in my career, I had to review a summary investigation with respect to a Comm's person who was suffering from lung issues and the final report pointed directly at his work in buildings laden with asbestos. Moral of my story is if in doubt submit a claim pointing directly at buildings, etc. laden with asbestos.

In my initial claim I pointed my finger at the extremely dirty air in Syria and Afghanistan as the source of my cancer. Fortunately, there was a note on my file that indicated that I did in fact respond to a fire where there was potentially very toxic particles in the air. In the end VAC agreed that the probable source of my cancer was from the firefighting incident and not the air in Syria and Afghanistan.

AirLog

AirLog
CSAT Member

Number of posts : 246
Registration date : 2017-11-19

Back to top Go down

Asbestos Empty Asbestos