Canadian Soldiers Assistance Team (CSAT) Forum

Join the forum, it's quick and easy

Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

A prospective on the Tragic death of a veteran Greg Matters

Go down

A prospective on the Tragic death of a veteran Greg Matters Empty A prospective on the Tragic death of a veteran Greg Matters

Post by Guest Mon 17 Sep 2012, 23:08

A prospective on the Tragic death of a veteran Greg Matters

As a Military veteran and RCMP veteran I was sick when I read this tragic story of fellow disabled veteran with PTSD being shot by the RCMP . I am a 24 year veteran of the RCMP and as a result of my two UN missions to the former Yugoslavia PTSD ended my career.
My heart goes out to the Mather's family and I want to think that something different could have been done to avoid Greg’s fatal shooting. I am writing this in order to present a perspective in regards to all the negative comments aimed at the RCMP as a whole painting 20,000 plus RCMP officers with the dysfunctional brush of incompetence.

In fairness to all involved in this tragedy I want to present an objective prospective that needs to be said until the truth of whatactually happened comes to light after the investigation is done by the BC Independent Investigations Office looking into this tragic incident.

All must remember no news agency was present as the long standoff took place. I have two news articles about the Mather’s shooting one Canadian Press story posted by the CBC and the other a Canadian Press story by the Globe and Mail in regards to Greg’s contact with the The Prince George Citizen News Paper.

The first thing that people need to realize is that newspapers exist to sell newspapers and need stories like this to make money. News papers make mistakes which was the case in the Canadian Press story posted by CBC which later stated the following;

Corrections and Clarifications